Grass Fed, Antibiotic and Hormone Free and a much thinner… wallet!

cowfield

I live in a small Texas town. They call it a city, but that’s pushing it. It’s a town.
Trying to eat “healthy” can eat through your budget.
“Sourcing” organic produce is easy. Most of the chain stores have it without problem.
You can eat seasonally, like our ancestors did. Just Google what’s in season for your part of the world and you can find all sorts of great info and trek off to the grocery store with a good idea of what would be naturally available right this minute.
Me? I can’t wait for peaches and watermelon to be in season.

But I digress. What was I going on about? Oh yeah: grass fed, organic, antibiotic free, cost and local availability.

Beef and other meats, not so much. At all.
Yes the chain stores carry Laura’s Lean and Nolan Ryan beef to some extent, but not much variety.
But, hey, I have the internet and there are loads of online sources, if you’re willing to pay $10 a pound for ground beef, $14 a pound for a roast, etc. Not to mention a minimum of $20 additional for shipping.

I decided to bite the bullet and order some beef since son is still away at school for another month and it’s just the hubby and me.

So I ordered 16 burger patties(1/3lb each), 2lbs of beef tenderloin trimmings(chunks), and 2lbs of liver. I love liver, so does the dog. The “guys” won’t touch it. We’re set.

I used http://www.leanandtenderbeef.com and I do recommend them, the beef has excellent flavor and the packaging/shipping great.
(no I don’t get kickbacks for recommending them lol)

American Criollo Beef Association
PO Box 426
Winters, TX 79567
325-201-3201
Fax: 325-767-3687


Now here’s one any Paleo/Primal can sink their teeth into.
April 27 is National Prime Rib Day!!


Food today!

Breakfast: scrambled eggs with zucchini, coffee
Lunch: prime rib, salad with olive oil and vinegar(if I can sneak it into the restaurant), steamed broccoli
Supper: salad with lettuce, spinach, tomato, cucumber, pepper, onions, olives, oil and vinegar, sardines on the side

Leave a Reply

