Your mission today: make it through the end of July!

This is the gauntlet run for food for my family.
May: Son graduates from College followed by Mothers day followed by hubbs and my anniversary.
June: sons birthday followed by Fathers day followed by Grandmothers birthday.
July: Fourth of July followed by my birthday.

It’s a minefield of food celebrations and pitfalls.

I can honestly say I’m worried about being able to stay Primal through it all.
Am I 100% Primal?
No.
I mean, I try to be.
I really do.
I can control what I put in front of me, but eating out can be tricky.
Even ordering a steak or grilled chicken or fajitas, you have to be very diligent about what “they” put in/on/around foods.
So I always feel I did well, but not 100%, when we eat out.
cakes
Celebrations usually include cake, pie, ice cream, etc.
Ok I can do a cheesecake with stevia and no crust. Same with a custard(using almond milk or coconut milk).
But I have yet to find a cake that is, well, cakey.
Yes they make gluten free cake mixes and recipes, but those are normally loaded with sugar.
Luckily I love fruit, and most can be frozen and pureed into a passable iced treat.
It’s a challenge, and I accept it as one, but I’m not unaware of the difficulty ahead.
Tally-ho!

Fan-tam-dastic Avocado Salad Dressing
1 medium haas avocado (about 3oz once seeded and peeled)
1 small tomato (about 2oz), rough chopped
Cilantro – about 4 sprigs unless you hate it, then skip it
1 clove garlic, peeled
2 green onions, chopped roughly
¼ cup water
½ cup good quality oil (avocado, macadamia, grapeseed, olive – your choice)
2 Tablespoons lemon juice
2 Tablespoons vinegar (Bragg’s etc, with the mother)
Sea Salt and pepper to taste

*I prefer grapeseed oil because it’s very light and doesn’t mask the flavor of the other ingredients.

In a blender or food processor puree the avocado, tomato, cilantro, garlic, onions and water until smooth.
With it running, add the vinegar and lemon juice, then add the oil and let it emulsify.
If it thickens too much, add more water, a little at a time.
Taste, add salt and pepper and refrigerate until ready to use.
**For a little kick, add ½ a fresh jalapeno or other pepper when pureeing the first ingredients.
**For a mildly sweet version, add ½ a diced mango or peach to the puree, or for a calorie free sweetness, use a little stevia.

Food today:
Breakfast: coffee with a splash of coconut milk
Lunch: pan sauteed onions, garlic and beef liver, lettuce and tomato salad with my “Fan-tam-dastic Avocado Salad Dressing”
Supper: Primal taco salad

mealstoday

2 thoughts on “Your mission today: make it through the end of July!

  1. Rowena Vik says:

    The end of July… hehe I want to make it through tomorrow. And the next day…Partner just offered my cheesecake making services to some friends for this weekend… sigh. Nice to feel I’m not alone in this primal think though, thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

