First Sight: Our Loving Canine Family Member

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/first-sight/

Whether a person, a pet, an object, or a place, write about something or someone you connected with from the very first second.

My first sight would be our amazing SPCA friend who passed away yesterday.
We went to the SPCA in October 2000 looking for “a dog” and we came home with a wonderful family addition that would enrich our lives for nearly 14 years.
Shasta was a German Short Haired pointer/mix.
When I saw her, and she saw me, she nibbled on my fingers.
I turned to hubbs and said “she’s the one”.
Out of the dozen or more dogs in the yard that day, I knew it, from that first moment.
She was the most wonderful, smart and loving friend anyone could ask for.
She was my companion when hubbs was at work and son was at school.
She had a sense of humor and talked to us all the time.
She will be missed and, right now, my heart is breaking but full of the memories of love and laughter she gave us through the years.

6 thoughts on “First Sight: Our Loving Canine Family Member

Leave a Reply

