Hectic morning!

Finally, a couple of days of rain here on the Gulf Coast of Texas.
Boy we needed it 🙂

Just a quick post to add a recipe I whipped up.
I made it for supper, topped with a sunny-side-up egg, but it’s a good breakfast option.
I’m not sure about a make-ahead though, I have not liked anything “the next day” that I make with coconut flour as a binder.

Zucchini Pancake with Egg

1 zucchini, grate and squeeze the water out really well (I use cheesecloth and wring it)
2 ex-large eggs
2tsp coconut flour or arrowroot starch/flour
2T shredded sharp Cheddar (optional)
salt and pepper to taste
1T ghee or your favorite oil for cooking

Beat one egg with salt and pepper. and cheese if using. Toss the grated and squeezed zucchini with the coconut flour and then toss with the egg.
Preheat a skillet with 1tsp of the cooking fat (bacon fat would be great here)and pat the zucchini into 2 large rounds for ease of flipping. If you’re good at flipping, make 1 round.
Let it cook until it’s nicely browned, about 4 minutes over low-ish heat, then flip and let cook another 4 minutes. You want to cook the raw taste of the coconut flour out.
Keep warm while you cook your egg in the remaining fat.
I’m all about the yolk, so I like to put the egg on top so the yolk breaks over the zucchini Pancakes as I eat it.

Leave a Reply

