Today Marks Two Weeks Free Of: Allegra, Advil and Sudafed

Why is this a ballergiesig deal? Because I have allergies. And I was totally dependent on these products, daily, for months on end.

It seems like the “allergy season” here is now year-round.

I was rotating between Allegra, Claritin and Zyrtec, 1 week then switch, to see if I had better results, but the Allegra seemed to work best for me.

I didn’t want to take an antihistamine/decongestant combo product, because I don’t always need a decongestant.

I started this as an experiment to see if I felt worse not taking them than I do when taking them.

The up-side: fewer morning headaches; less lethargy; less weird taste in my mouth all the time; sleeping more soundly at night; not drowsy during the day as much. This is an odd one, but I don’t use a lot of sweeteners daily anyway, but I found that I need a lot less, like half, to get the taste I want, than I did before I stopped the medications. Weird, huh?

The down-side: every evening, around 7pm, I have a round of sneezures – I sneeze about 10 times in a row, have a few minutes reprieve, then do it again. This lasts about 30-45 minutes.

I’m starting to think I’m allergic to my husband lol.

Bottom line is: I don’t feel worse. And I’m sure my liver appreciates not being assaulted with Advil constantly.

Leave a Reply

