One of my favorite sites for recipes and ideas: Nom Nom Paleo

If you’ve never checked out Nom Nom Paleo please do! You’re missing out.

The lovely and talented Michelle Tam has a wonderful site and cook books, with not just recipes, but fun to read stories, “quips and quotes” as well.

Why am I mentioning this? Because I have a craving for sriracha mayonnaise, and I don’t want: corn oil, canola oil, MSG, gluten, and all that other junk that’s in commercially processed ones.

So a google search for “clean” sriracha took me to Nom Nom Paleo and this recipe for paleo sriracha that is prefect for my needs! Not to mention, Michelle takes the long fermentation time out of the equation so it’s fast, cheap and easy (and who doesn’t like that?!) đŸ˜‰

So the whole sriracha mayo thing is pretty easy: just make the sriracha (or buy some), and add the amount you like to your favorite home-made or store bought mayonnaise. I like about 1 tablespoon to 1/2 cup mayonnaise.

For my taste, once I make the mayo, I like to blend in some extra lime juice for the sriracha mayo. It adds that little bit of extra acidity that enhances the heat from the sriracha.

I only make about 1/2 cup of sriracha mayo at a time because it’s one of those things I really love – for a little while lol.

On canned seafood, it’s really good: mix a little in your tuna or salmon salad, use as a dipping sauce for any type of seafood “cake” in place of tartar sauce, just smeared over good sardines. (if you’re not into seafood, replace a tablespoon or 2 of the mayo in your next chicken salad, smear on roast beef, great with pork chops!).

 

Leave a Reply

