T-Minus 5 Days and Counting to Whole30

I decided to start on Monday, January 30, 2017 instead of Feb 1st.

Since son and hubbs are not doing it, I am breaking the expense up between 2 shopping trips.

Well, they don’t know they’re doing it lol.

I will incorporate as much as I can into the meals that they eat as well. For example, if I make burger patties and veggies, they can have cheese and butter. I can easily make a starchy side for them and not need to make any change to the main component (Thank you Uncle Bens rice sides!).

My prep so far:

  • stocked up on marked down grass fed ground beef and steaks (woo-hoo for early Monday morning grocery shopping. That’s when our local HEB has their grass fed beef marked down :D) ;
  • a couple of bags of wild caught salmon and cod (not marked down -yikes!);
  • several packages of free-range, antibiotic/hormone free chicken (also marked down), I picked up drumsticks and thighs, and a pack of 4 breasts that will get added to bone broth;
  • canned tuna and canned sardines in olive oil, anchovies for salad dressing;
  • bags and bags of frozen veggies;
  • nutpods (Whole30 approved creamer) even though I drink my coffee mostly black, now and then I like a little something in it. The original flavor nutpod also works well to add creaminess to soups and things.
  • Almonds, walnuts and pecans, which I packaged in 1oz bags and popped in the freezer;

Today I’m going to make chicken bone broth and freeze it in 2 cup containers.

I’m also going to make my go-to/emergency Whole30 meal component: 

  • 3lbs ground beef (use grass fed if you can, if not just drain it well since most of the bad stuff is in the fat);
  • 2lbs frozen, french cut green beans
  • 1 large onion, diced. LARGE like, huge!
  • mushrooms, sliced, as many as you like (I use about 1 pound)
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed or minced
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 3T ghee, coconut oil, whatever fat you prefer
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • (later)
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (optional)
  • 2T coconut aminos or GF tamari sauce(iffy on whole30, use the aminos for 100%)

Heat the fat and add the onion. Cook for 2-3 minutes, until it starts to soften, then add the garlic and cook 1 minute.

Add the ground beef, breaking it up, and cook for 5 minutes until it’s no longer pink on the surface.

Add the green beans, mushrooms, and 1 cup of broth and simmer for 10 minutes, until it’s cooked through.

Spoon out approximately half and let it cool, then portion into approximately 6 serving sized and freeze individually.

To the remaining in the pan, add the 4 cups broth, tomatoes with juice, and aminos. Bring to a simmer for a few minutes.

Let cool and portion into approximately 6 servings and freeze individually.

Now you have a “dry” beef an veggie base and a “soup” base.

You can add  more veggies when you heat it, or eat as-is for a filling, quick meal.

I like to add hot sauce and a splash of vinegar to the “soup” version when I heat it up.

 

 

Leave a Reply

