Product Recommendation: Cut-da-Carb Flatbread and Honorable Mentions of Other Brands of Low-Carb Wraps/Tortillas/Pitas

UPDATE: I can not recommend the Cut-da-Carb Flatbread if you plan to freeze them. Even freezing them flat, with parchment paper between each bread sheet, they crumble and break upon thawing. 

 

Most of these are not gluten free products, sadly, but I do recommend them if a little gluten is not a problem for you.

I’ve found, for me, 1-2 servings of these a week are not a problem for my health or weight loss. If I have more than that, I can definitely tell with my fingers and ankles swelling, mild headaches and even stuffy sinuses.

I do NOT have Celiac, but I am sensitive to too much gluten, so “you do you” as the saying goes 🙂

If you’ve ever had the Lavash from Joseph’s Middle Eastern Bakery (available at walmart and Netriton.com), this is similar but even thinner.

The Cut Da Carb The Thinnest Flatbread Ever is super, paper thin, yet hearty and holds up well as a tortilla substitute, makes good baked (or microwaved) crackers, even as a dessert wrap(brush lightly with melted butter and sprinkle with sweetener and cinnamon, fill with equal parts cream cheese and sour cream beaten with a little sweetener, vanilla and berries to taste; cut the flatbread into 1/4’s, fill and roll).

I do not recommend this one for pizza, it doesn’t hold up well to heavy toppings. For Pizza, Joseph’s Lavash, Pita or Tortillas are much sturdier.

A bigger and higher fiber tortilla/wrap is Ole Extreme Wellness which you can find at walmart (by the case online at walmart.com). These are packed with a whopping 11g of fiber, making it a good choice.

I have tried many of the gluten free products, including trying to make my own. I just don’t get the right texture to call them a success.

Many gluten free products are extremely high in carbs as well.

If carbs are not a concern, I can recommend the Flatout Gluten Free Flatbread . The taste is really good, and the texture is a little bit spongy but, once baked, it firms up nicely.

 

Leave a comment